We use cookies

By visiting, you agree to the use of cookies to improve our service. More details can be found in our Privacy Policy.

Accept Decline

PARKOUR – Status Report

Handling the coronavirus pandemic underlined our investment portfolio’s agility once more in 2020. On the one hand, COVID-19 increased the pressure on the Group to transform. On the other, the strengths of our SMEs and diversified portfolio have again been proven. The continuation of our PARKOUR strategy program further expands this resilience: We are resolutely strengthening the portfolio structure, constantly driving innovation, and systematically improving performance in the portfolio companies.

INDUS_Interim-Sprint_PK

Focus 1: Strengthening the Portfolio Structure

PARKOUR focuses on the targeted development and forward-looking orientation of our portfolio. Our INTERIM SPRINT package of measures, which we implemented in 2020, clearly boosted this portfolio optimization. This is because the coronavirus pandemic highlighted existing weaknesses that we have specifically addressed. For example, we sold our subsidiary KIEBACK and the sub-subsidiary FICHTHORN, both from the Automotive Technology segment. In the Metals Technology segment, we closed the plastics plating sector at SIMON Systems, which was no longer sustainable, and decided to close the portfolio company BACHER. Moreover, the systematic expansion of the portfolio and the continuous development of our portfolio companies remain key building blocks of our INDUS DNA. We are systematically following our successful strategy of “buy, hold & develop.”

Furthermore, we are sticking to the target of acquiring two to three companies per year from our six defined growth industries. Despite the fact that COVID-19 has made conditions more difficult, we were able to sign the purchase agreement for Jungmann Systemtechnik (JST) in November 2020, and the deal closed at the start of January 2021. The SME JST with its registered office in Buxtehude offers complete solutions for setting up control centers and control stations and strengthens the INDUS portfolio in the growth industry of measuring technology, automation and control engineering in a targeted manner. In line with our multi-tier transaction model, we also acquired remaining shares in M+P, PEISELER, MBN and SELZER in 2020.

Focus 2: Driving Innovation

PARKOUR aims to increase our portfolio companies’ innovativeness. We systematically support our portfolio companies with the strategic orientation of their innovation activities in order to retain and increase competitiveness in the long term. To this end, we provide methodological support to establish appropriate processes and methods in the portfolio companies and seamlessly integrate them into the organizational structure. The aim is to identify and take advantage of market opportunities.

We support innovation projects with high strategic importance and a corresponding level of innovation through pro rata financial subsidies via the INDUS development bank. We also funded numerous projects via this existing instrument in 2020, despite the coronavirus pandemic. For example, M. BRAUN developed a glove box with voice control, and MBN designed an innovative screwdriver magazine.

In order to seize the opportunities from megatrends such as digitalization or green tech in a targeted way, we provide working groups within the Group. The aim of this direct communication between the portfolio companies is to jointly analyze market prospects and accumulate knowledge with added value. Experts from industry and research additionally inject ideas from outside. In 2020, for example, a working group was initiated on the topic of “opportunities in hydrogen technologies.”

When further developing our portfolio companies’ range of expertise, we also focus on acquisitions of younger, innovative companies at sub-subsidiary level. With the revival of the M&A market after the COVID-19 pandemic, the focus continues to be on complementary additions in the defined growth industries.

Despite the COVID-19 pandemic, we systematically advanced key building blocks of our PARKOUR strategy in 2020. We stand by our targets for 2025.

1.

55 to 60 portfolio companies with sales significantly over EUR 2 billion.

2.

EBIT target margin of 10% again reliably achieved.

3.

Growth industries clearly represented in the portfolio.

4.

Innovation established as growth driver in the portfolio companies.

5.

We live digitalization because our companies have mastered the shift to the “Tech Generation.”

6.

Operational excellence implemented in the portfolio companies’ value-adding core processes.

7.

Internationalization successfully continued by the portfolio companies.

Sustainable and responsible actions toward our stakeholders are the guiding principle for all of the economic activities in our Group.

Focus 3: Improving Performance

The effects of the pandemic in particular have again demonstrated the importance of operational excellence in the portfolio companies. PARKOUR deliberately focuses on the continuous improvement of business processes in the complete value chain.

One focus is on increasing productivity in order processing. In a status check of production processes across the Group, it was possible to work out and prioritize the action required in the portfolio companies. In 2020, we gave the portfolio companies more support with implementing concrete optimization projects in production and logistics. In our lean management training, employees were trained to become certified lean experts and lean trainers who can now pass on their knowledge within the Group. At the exchange of best practices, we also provide networking opportunities around order processing.

A second focus, which was established in 2019 to promote operational excellence, is on the business development, strategic marketing, and sales area. In 2020, we were able to carry out status checks at selected portfolio companies in order to work out the respective action required in strategy, sales, marketing, and pricing and to define fitting measures – which are being implemented independently by the portfolio companies or with the support of the holding company. Successful examples include implementation projects – for instance, at ELTHERM, IPETRONIK, HORN, GSR, and M+P INTERNATIONAL. We support methodological skills in the portfolio companies through actively sharing knowledge: For example, we are further expanding our range of seminars, which have been in greater demand due to the pandemic.

Downloads

You can download individual sections of the current financial report or the complete PDF here.

back
INDUS Share

Wir verwenden Cookies

Mit Ihrem Besuch stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies zur Verbesserung unseres Service zu. Näheres hierzu finden Sie in unseren Datenschutzrichtlinien.

Akzeptieren Ablehnen

PARKOUR – Statusreport

Der Umgang mit der Corona-Pandemie hat die Agilität unseres Beteiligungsportfolios 2020 wieder unterstrichen. Einerseits hat COVID-19 den Transformationsdruck auf die Gruppe erhöht, anderseits haben sich die Stärken unserer mittelständischen Unternehmen und des diversifizierten Portfolios erneut bewiesen. Mit der Fortsetzung unseres Strategieprogramms PARKOUR bauen wir diese Resilienz weiter aus: Wir stärken dezidiert die Portfoliostruktur, treiben Innovationen stetig voran und steigern systematisch die Leistung in den Beteiligungen.

INDUS_Zwischenspurt_PK

Schwerpunkt 1: Stärkung der Portfoliostruktur

PARKOUR setzt auf die gezielte Weiterentwicklung und zukunftsorientierte Ausrichtung unseres Portfolios. Mit unserem im Jahr 2020 umgesetzten Maßnahmenprogramm ZWISCHENSPURT haben wir dieser Portfoliooptimierung einen deutlichen Schub gegeben. Denn die Corona-Pandemie hat bestehende Schwachstellen verdeutlicht, denen wir uns gezielt gestellt haben. So haben wir unser Tochterunternehmen KIEBACK und die Enkelgesellschaft FICHTHORN, beide aus dem Segment Fahrzeugtechnik, verkauft. Und im Segment Metalltechnik haben wir die Stilllegung der nicht mehr zukunftsfähigen Kunststoffgalvanik bei SIMON Systems umgesetzt sowie die Stilllegung der Beteiligung BACHER beschlossen. Weiter gilt: Der konsequente Ausbau des Portfolios und die kontinuierliche Entwicklung unserer Beteiligungen bleiben zentrale Bausteine unserer INDUS-DNA. Wir folgen konsequent unserer erfolgreichen Strategie „Kaufen, halten & entwickeln“.

Auch am Ziel, zwei bis drei Unternehmen pro Jahr aus unseren sechs definierten Zukunftsbranchen zu erwerben, halten wir fest. Trotz der durch COVID-19 erschwerten Bedingungen konnten wir im November 2020 den Kaufvertrag für Jungmann Systemtechnik (JST) unterzeichnen; das Closing fand Anfang Januar 2021 statt. Das mittelständische Unternehmen JST mit Sitz in Buxtehude bietet Komplettlösungen zur Einrichtung von Leitständen, Leitwarten und Leitstellen an und verstärkt das INDUS-Portfolio zielgerichtet in der Zukunftsbranche Mess-, Automatisierungs- und Regelungstechnik. Unserem mehrstufigen Transaktionsmodell entsprechend haben wir 2020 außerdem Restanteile an M+P, PEISELER, MBN und SELZER erworben.

Schwerpunkt 2: Innovation treiben

PARKOUR zielt auf die Steigerung der Innovationskraft unserer Beteiligungen. Wir unterstützen die Portfoliounternehmen systematisch bei der strategischen Ausrichtung ihrer Innovationsaktivitäten, um die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit langfristig zu halten bzw. zu erhöhen. Dazu stellen wir methodische Unterstützung bereit, um entsprechende Prozesse und Methoden in den Beteiligungsunternehmen zu etablieren und maßgeschneidert in die Organisationsstruktur zu integrieren. Ziel ist es, Marktchancen strukturiert zu erkennen und zu ergreifen.

Über die INDUS-Förderbank unterstützen wir Innovationsprojekte mit hoher strategischer Bedeutung und entsprechender Innovationshöhe durch anteilige finanzielle Zuschüsse. Über dieses bereits etablierte Instrument wurden auch im Corona-Jahr 2020 zahlreiche Projekte gefördert. So hat beispielsweise M. BRAUN eine Glovebox mit Voice-Control entwickelt und MBN ein innovatives Schraubermagazin konzipiert.

Um die Chancen von Megatrends wie zum Beispiel Digitalisierung oder GreenTech gezielt aufzugreifen, bieten wir Arbeitskreise innerhalb der Gruppe an. Ziel dieses direkten Austauschs zwischen den Beteiligungen ist es, Marktperspektiven gemeinsam zu analysieren und Wissen mit Mehrwert zu kumulieren. Fachexperten aus Industrie und Forschung setzen ergänzend Impulse von außen. 2020 wurde zum Beispiel ein Arbeitskreis zum Thema „Chancen der Wasserstoff-Technologien“ initiiert.

Bei der Weiterentwicklung des Kompetenzprofils unserer Beteiligungen setzen wir auch auf Zukäufe von jüngeren, innovativen Unternehmen auf Enkelebene. Mit dem Wiederaufleben des M&A-Markts nach der COVID-19-Pandemie liegt der Fokus weiter auf Ergänzungsakquisitionen in den definierten Zukunftsbranchen.

Trotz Covid-19-Pandemie haben wir 2020 wesent­liche Bausteine unserer PARKOUR Strategie
konsequent vorangetrieben. An unseren Zielen für 2025 halten wir fest.

1.

55 bis 60 Beteiligungen mit einem Umsatz deutlich über 2 Mrd. EUR

2.

EBIT-Zielmarge von 10 % wird wieder zuverlässig erreicht.

3.

Zukunftsbranchen spiegeln sich im Portfolio deutlich wider.

4.

Innovation hat sich in den Beteiligungen als Wachstumsmotor etabliert.

5.

Digitalisierung leben wir, denn unsere Unternehmen haben den Übergang in die „Tech-­Generation“ erfolgreich gestaltet.

6.

Operative Exzellenz ist in den wertschöpfenden Kernprozessen der Beteiligungen implementiert.

7.

Internationalisierung wurde von den Beteiligungen weiter erfolgreich vorangetrieben.

Nachhaltiges und verantwortungsvolles Handeln gegenüber unseren Stakeholdern steht als Leitlinie über allen wirtschaftlichen Aktivitäten in unserer Gruppe.

Schwerpunkt 3: Leistung steigern

Gerade die Auswirkungen der Pandemie haben die Bedeutung der operativen Exzellenz in den Beteiligungen noch einmal verdeutlicht. PARKOUR fokussiert gezielt die kontinuierliche Verbesserung der Geschäftsprozesse in der kompletten Wertschöpfung.

Ein Schwerpunkt liegt auf der Produktivitätssteigerung in der Auftragsabwicklung. In einem gruppenweiten Statuscheck der Produktionsprozesse konnte der Handlungsbedarf in den Beteiligungen herausgearbeitet und priorisiert werden. 2020 unterstützten wir die Beteiligungen dann verstärkt bei der Umsetzung konkreter Optimierungsprojekte im Bereich Produktion und Logistik. Im Rahmen unseres Lean-Management-Schulungsangebots wurden Mitarbeiter zu zertifizierten Lean-Experten und Lean-Trainern ausgebildet, die nun innerhalb der Gruppe ihr Wissen weitervermitteln können. Zum Best-Practice-Austausch bieten wir außerdem Vernetzungsangebote rund um die Auftragsabwicklung an.

Ein zweiter, 2019 etablierter Fokus zur Förderung der operativen Exzellenz liegt auf dem Bereich Business Development, Strategisches Marketing und Vertrieb. 2020 konnten wir bei ausgewählten Beteiligungen Statuschecks durchführen, um den jeweiligen Handlungsbedarf bei Strategie, Vertrieb, Marketing und Pricing abzuleiten und passgenaue Maßnahmen zu definieren – die eigenständig durch die Beteiligungen oder mit Unterstützung der Holding umgesetzt werden. Erfolgreiche Beispiele sind Implementierungsprojekte u. a. bei ELTHERM, IPETRONIK, HORN, GSR und M+P INTERNATIONAL. Die methodische Kompetenz in den Beteiligungen stützen wir durch Wissensvermittlung aktiv: So bauen wir unser Seminarangebot, das durch die Pandemie verstärkt nachgefragt wurde, weiter aus.Trotz COVID-19-Pandemie haben wir 2020 wesentliche Bausteine unserer PARKOUR-Strategie konsequent vorangetrieben. An unseren Zielen für 2025 halten wir fest.

Downloads

Hier können Sie sich den aktuellen Finanzbericht in einzelnen Teilen oder vollständig als PDF herunterladen.

zurück
INDUS-Aktie