We use cookies

By visiting, you agree to the use of cookies to improve our service. More details can be found in our Privacy Policy.

Accept Decline

Our Broad Positioning Is Paying Off Particularly Now

2020 was, without a doubt, an exceptional year for INDUS. A year of particular challenges but also of small and large successes in our day-to-day business activities shaped by the coronavirus. The INDUS Board of Management takes stock.

How can you sum up a year like 2020?

Dr. Johannes Schmidt —

2020 was an exceptional year and demanded a great deal from all the INDUS Group’s employees – both in the portfolio companies and in the holding company. At the same time, our portfolio companies’ high degree of agility, which the managing directors as “local entrepreneurs” and our motivated workforces proved day after day, enabled us to adapt quickly to the ever-changing external circumstances caused by the pandemic.

Rudolf Weichert —

We were able to maintain the added value in the companies most of the time, even during the lockdowns, while also maintaining high standards for protecting the health of our employees. We therefore came through the crisis year relatively well as a group, with consolidated sales decreasing by 10.6% to EUR 1.56 billion. At EUR 174.4 million, our operating cash flow was in fact above the previous year’s level. Operating income, which was EUR 25.1 million, was particularly affected by the Automotive Technology segment’s negative performance, the goodwill impairments recognized, and the effects from implementing the INTERIM SPRINT package of measures.

INTERIM SPRINT is a good term. What’s already happened there and what’s behind this?

Dr. Johannes Schmidt —

Implementing the INTERIM SPRINT package of measures meant we sold a portfolio company, a sub-subsidiary, and a division of a portfolio company in 2020. We also closed a division of a portfolio company, and we’ll fully complete the closure of another portfolio company in mid-2021. This means INTERIM SPRINT has significantly strengthened our portfolio structure.

What issues are particularly occupying your portfolio companies at the moment? What areas for improvement are you working on?

Axel Meyer —

The coronavirus pandemic is continuing to keep our managing directors and our portfolio companies’ employees in suspense. We’re focusing particular attention on implementing health protection measures for our employees and at the same time meeting operating challenges, which puts considerable strain on everyone involved. Where possible, our employees are working from home. And a lot of work is now being done virtually. For example, machinery at customers’ premises all over the world is being installed and put into operation with video assistance, and certification audits are being conducted online. We’ve also expanded our web-based training options for customers.

Jörn Grossmann —

Despite the pandemic, the portfolio companies are looking ahead. Innovation activities continue. And the portfolio companies are also intensively focusing on initiating acquisitions of complementary additions to strengthen their market position or supplement their product portfolios.

How much has the pressure for innovation and efficiency further increased?

Axel Meyer —

It’s noticeable that pressure for efficiency is still increasing. In addition to the many other coronavirus-related challenges, material prices are currently rising significantly. That’s why our “improving performance” strategic initiative really hits the mark. Our “Operational Excellence in Production” and “Operational Excellence in Business Development/Sales” programs help our portfolio companies to improve their value-adding core processes. This enables them to better exploit existing market opportunities or, in the spirit of lean management, “avoid waste.” Especially in the area of business development and sales, there’s considerable potential that can be leveraged – in some cases even faster than in production. The best example is the pricing of products and services: You have to develop a clear picture of customer benefit here and then price this consistently. A smart pricing policy creates concrete earnings potential.

Jörn Grossmann —

In the period after the coronavirus in particular, innovation pressure is also going to continue to increase. The topic of digitalization is still on everyone’s lips. We’re deliberately strengthening our portfolio companies’ creativity and innovativeness with the “driving innovation” strategic initiative from our PARKOUR strategy program. Even in 2020, which was a difficult year, we carried on with important innovation projects and started new ones. We’ve invested a total of around EUR 1.5 million to support our portfolio companies’ important innovation projects with our innovation development bank.

What does the current situation mean for the intended acquisitions?

Dr. Johannes Schmidt —

We’ve set ourselves clear growth targets for the portfolio with the “strengthening the portfolio structure” strategic initiative. We want to grow it sustainably with acquisitions in the sectors we’ve identified as growth industries. In the past year, the market for the types of acquisition targets INDUS typically chooses – the hidden champions of the SME industry – largely dried up until well into the third quarter. Since the end of the third quarter, we have, however, seen a significant revival. The “good” companies have now proved that they can even develop in a stable way in times of pandemic. That is giving the sellers – and we almost exclusively talk to owners of family-run businesses here – the courage to start sales processes again.

We’re currently at an advanced stage in several processes. I’m very confident that we’ll succeed in several more acquisitions in 2021, as set out in our PARKOUR strategy program – both growth acquisitions at portfolio level and complementary additions for our portfolio companies.

What can the shareholders and partners expect for 2021 overall?

Rudolf Weichert —

2021 will be a transition year for the INDUS Group after the adverse year of 2020. We’re going to see clear improvements in the Automotive Technology segment. However, 2021 will remain difficult for the two series suppliers in restructuring, because the series ramp-ups for important new projects are only just starting. The background to this is the long lead times in the industry. We expect a recovery in the Engineering, Medical Engineering/Life Science, and Metals Technology segments. And the Construction/Infrastructure segment remains an important linchpin of the portfolio.

Dr. Johannes Schmidt —

We’re going to continue to systematically implement the PARKOUR strategy program in 2021. The positive effects from the INTERIM SPRINT package of measures and the tailwind as a result of anticipated positive macroeconomic development let us take a major step toward healthy profitability. We’re also going to further strengthen the portfolio structure with important acquisitions.

We’re going to achieve our goals – together with the creative and bold managing directors in our portfolio companies and particularly also together with our motivated and dedicated employees in our portfolio companies and the holding company. On behalf of the entire Board of Management, I’d like to thank everyone very much for this dedication.

Downloads

You can download individual sections of the current financial report or the complete PDF here.

back
PARKOUR – Status Report

Wir verwenden Cookies

Mit Ihrem Besuch stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies zur Verbesserung unseres Service zu. Näheres hierzu finden Sie in unseren Datenschutzrichtlinien.

Akzeptieren Ablehnen

Jetzt zahlt sich ­unsere breite Aufstellung ­besonders aus

2020 war für INDUS ohne Zweifel ein außergewöhnliches Jahr. Ein Jahr der besonderen Herausforderungen, aber auch der kleinen und großen Erfolge im Corona-geprägten unternehmerischen Alltag. Der INDUS-Vorstand zieht Bilanz.

Wie lässt sich ein Jahr wie 2020 resümieren?

Dr. Johannes Schmidt —

Das besondere Jahr 2020 hat allen Mitarbeitern der INDUS-Gruppe – sowohl in den Beteiligungsunternehmen als auch in der Holding – sehr viel abverlangt. Zugleich hat die hohe Agilität unserer Beteiligungen, die die Geschäftsführer als „Unternehmer vor Ort“ und motivierte Belegschaften Tag für Tag beweisen, es aber ermöglicht, dass wir uns schnell an pandemiebedingt immer wieder neue äußere Umstände anpassen konnten.

Rudolf Weichert —

Die Wertschöpfung in den Unternehmen konnte für die allermeiste Zeit auch während der Lockdowns aufrechterhalten werden – bei gleichzeitig hohen Standards für den Gesundheitsschutz unserer Mitarbeiter. So sind wir als Gruppe mit einem Rückgang des konsolidierten Umsatzes um 10,6 % auf nun 1,56 Mio. EUR relativ gut durch das Krisenjahr gekommen. Der operative Cashflow lag mit 174,4 Mio. EUR sogar noch über Vorjahresniveau. Das operative Ergebnis von 25,1 Mio. EUR ist besonders geprägt von der negativen Entwicklung des Segments Fahrzeugtechnik und den vorgenommenen Goodwill-Abschreibungen sowie von den Effekten aus der Umsetzung des Maßnahmenpakets ZWISCHENSPURT.

ZWISCHENSPURT ist ein gutes Stichwort. Was verbirgt sich dahinter und wie geht es weiter?

Dr. Johannes Schmidt —

Mit der Umsetzung des Maßnahmenpakets ZWISCHENSPURT haben wir im Jahr 2020 eine Beteiligungsgesellschaft, eine Enkelgesellschaft und ein Geschäftsfeld einer Beteiligung verkauft. Außerdem haben wir ein Geschäftsfeld eines Portfoliounternehmens stillgelegt. Die Schließung einer weiteren Beteiligungsgesellschaft werden wir zur Jahresmitte 2021 vollständig abschließen. Mit ZWISCHENSPURT konnten wir so die Portfoliostruktur deutlich stärken.

Welche Themen beschäftigen ihre Beteiligungen gerade besonders? An welchen „Baustellen“ arbeiten sie?

Axel Meyer —

Die Corona-Pandemie hält die Geschäftsführungen und die Mitarbeiter unserer Beteiligungen weiter in Atem. Wir legen große Sorgfalt auf die Umsetzung des Gesundheitsschutzes für die Beschäftigten und meistern gleichzeitig die operativen Herausforderungen – das beansprucht alle Beteiligten stark. Wo möglich, arbeiten die Mitarbeiter mobil von zuhause. Und eine Vielzahl von Aufgaben wird mittlerweile virtuell realisiert. So werden zum Beispiel Maschinen bei Kunden in der ganzen Welt per Videobegleitung montiert und in Betrieb genommen oder Zertifizierungsaudits online durchgeführt. Und das webbasierte Schulungsangebot für Kunden wurde ausgebaut.

Jörn Grossmann —

Trotz der Pandemie schauen die Beteiligungen nach vorne. Die Innovationsaktivitäten laufen weiter. Und die Beteiligungen beschäftigen sich auch intensiv damit, Ergänzungsakquisitionen zur Stärkung ihrer Marktstellung oder zur Ergänzung ihres Produktportfolios anzubahnen.

Inwiefern hat sich der Innovations- und Effizienzdruck noch einmal erhöht?

Axel Meyer —

Erkennbar ist, dass sich der Effizienzdruck weiter erhöht. Zu den vielfältigen Corona-bedingten Herausforderungen kommen aktuell deutlich steigende Materialpreise hinzu. Deshalb trifft unsere strategische Initiative „Leistung steigern“ genau ins Schwarze. Unsere Programme „Operative Exzellenz Produktion“ und „Operative Exzellenz Business Development/Vertrieb“ helfen unseren Beteiligungen, ihre wertschöpfenden Kernprozesse zu verbessern. So können sie vorhandene Marktchancen besser nutzen oder ganz im Sinne des Lean Managements „Verschwendung vermeiden“. Gerade im Bereich Business Development und Vertrieb stecken erhebliche Potenziale, die teilweise sogar schneller als in der Produktion zu heben sind. Bestes Beispiel ist die Bepreisung von Produkten und Dienstleistungen: Hier muss man sich ein klares Bild vom Kundennutzen erarbeiten, und diesen dann konsequent bepreisen. Eine kluge Preispolitik bietet konkrete Ergebnispotenziale.

Jörn Grossmann —

Gerade in der Zeit „nach Corona“ wird sich auch der Innovationsdruck weiter erhöhen. Das Thema Digitalisierung bleibt in aller Munde. Mit der strategischen Initiative „Innovation treiben“ aus unserem Strategieprogramm PARKOUR stärken wir gezielt die Kreativität und Innovationskraft unserer Beteiligungen. Auch im schwierigen Jahr 2020 wurden wichtige Innovationsprojekte fortgeführt und neue gestartet. Insgesamt haben wir mit unserer Innovations-Förderbank rund 1,5 Mio. EUR zur Unterstützung wichtiger Innovationsprojekte unserer Beteiligungen investiert.

Was bedeutet die aktuelle Lage für die angestrebten Akquisitionen? Wie geht es 2021 mit Zukäufen weiter?

Dr. Johannes Schmidt —

Mit der strategischen Initiative „Portfoliostruktur stärken“ haben wir uns klare Wachstumsziele für das Portfolio gesetzt. Wir wollen mit Zukäufen in den von uns definierten Zukunftsbranchen nachhaltig wachsen. Im vergangenen Jahr war bis weit in das dritte Quartal hinein der Markt für INDUS-typische Akquisitionsziele – wir adressieren ja die Hidden Champions des Mittelstands – weitgehend ausgetrocknet. Seit Ende des dritten Quartals sehen wir aber eine deutliche Belebung. Die „guten“ Unternehmen haben nun bewiesen, dass sie sich selbst in Zeiten der Pandemie stabil weiterentwickeln. Das gibt den Verkäufern – und wir sprechen hier fast ausschließlich mit Familienunternehmern – den Mut, nun wieder in Verkaufsprozesse zu gehen.

Aktuell befinden wir uns in mehreren Prozessen im fortgeschrittenen Stadium. Ich bin sehr zuversichtlich, dass uns, wie in unserem Strategieprogramm PARKOUR formuliert, im Jahr 2021 noch mehrere Akquisitionen gelingen werden; sowohl Wachstumsakquisitionen auf Portfolioebene als auch Ergänzungsakquisitionen für unsere Beteiligungsunternehmen.

Was können die Aktionäre und Partner insgesamt für das Jahr 2021 erwarten?

Rudolf Weichert —

2021 wird für die INDUS-Gruppe nach dem widrigen Jahr 2020 ein Übergangsjahr. Im Segment Fahrzeugtechnik werden wir deutliche Verbesserungen sehen. Bei den beiden Serienzulieferern in Restrukturierung wird das Jahr 2021 allerdings noch schwierig bleiben, denn die Serienanläufe für wichtige Neuprojekte starten gerade erst. Hintergrund sind die langen Vorlaufzeiten in der Branche. In den Segmenten Maschinen- und Anlagenbau, Medizin- und Gesundheitstechnik sowie im Segment Metalltechnik erwarten wir eine Erholung. Und das Segment Bau/Infrastruktur bleibt weiter eine wichtige Stütze des Portfolios.

Dr. Johannes Schmidt —

Wir werden das Strategieprogramm PARKOUR im Jahr 2021 konsequent weiter umsetzen. Die positiven Effekte aus dem Maßnahmenpaket ZWISCHENSPURT und Rückenwind durch die voraussichtlich positive gesamtwirtschaftliche Entwicklung ermöglichen es uns, wieder einen großen Schritt zu einer gesunden Profitabilität zu gehen. Mit wichtigen Zukäufen werden wir darüber hinaus die Portfoliostruktur weiter stärken.

Wir werden unsere Ziele erreichen – gemeinsam mit den kreativen und mutigen Geschäftsführungen in unseren Beteiligungen, und insbesondere auch gemeinsam mit den motivierten und engagierten Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern in unseren Beteiligungsunternehmen und der Holding. Für diesen Einsatz danke ich allen im Namen des gesamten Vorstands ganz herzlich.

Downloads

Hier können Sie sich den aktuellen Finanzbericht in einzelnen Teilen oder vollständig als PDF herunterladen.

zurück
PARKOUR - Statusreport